Minimum requirements for maximum success.
Whether you want to move into a career or move on to a four-year university, California community colleges want to help you achieve your educational goals. The Board of Governors (BOG) Fee Waiver is available for eligible students at California community colleges, and will waive your per unit enrollment fee at any community college throughout the state.
Once you've qualified for the BOG Fee Waiver, it's important to ensure that you're meeting the academic and progress standards in order to avoid losing the fee waiver.
Academic - Sustain a GPA of 2.0 or higher
If your cumulative GPA falls below 2.0 for two consecutive primary terms (fall/spring semesters, or fall/winter/spring quarters), you may lose your fee waiver eligibility.
Progress - Complete more than 50% of your coursework
If the cumulative number of units you complete is not more than 50% in two consecutive primary terms (fall/spring semesters, or fall/winter/spring quarters), you may lose your fee waiver eligibility.
Combination of Academic and Progress Standards
Any combination of two consecutive terms of cumulative GPA below 2.0, and/or cumulative unit completion of not more than 50% may result in loss of fee waiver eligibility.
How will I know?
You'll be notified within 30 days of the end of each term if you are being placed on either Academic (GPA) and/or Progress (Course Completion) probation. Your notification will include the information that a second term of probation will result in loss of fee waiver eligibility. After the second consecutive term of probation, you may lose eligibility for the fee waiver at your next registration opportunity.
How to regain eligibility.
If you lose eligibility for the BOG Fee Waiver, there are a few ways that you can have it reinstated:
Improve your GPA or Course Completion measures to meet the academic and progress standards
Successful appeal regarding extenuating circumstances
Not attending your school district for two consecutive primary terms (fall/spring semesters, or fall/winter/spring quarters)
The appeals process for extenuating circumstances includes:
- Verified accidents, illness or other circumstances beyond your control
- Changes in economic situation
- Evidence of inability to obtain essential support services
- Special consideration factors for CalWORKs, EOPS, DSPS and veteran students
- Disability accommodations not received in a timely manner
Please note that foster youth and former foster youth (age 24 years and younger) are not subject to loss of the BOG Fee Waiver under these regulations.
If you have questions or need assistance, please contact the financial aid office or registrar at your college.
Check to see if you already have a Fee Waiver awarded!
Login to your WebAdvisor account and view your 2014 Financial Aid Award Letter!
No BOG Fee Waiver listed on your Award Letter?
Please follow these instructions to ensure timely awarding of the BOG Fee Waiver to eligible students:
Eligibility for the BOG Fee Waiver can be determined from information you enter on your FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid).
Enter your 2015-2016 FAFSA at www.fafsa.gov . Undocumented resident students qualifying for AB540 status must enter the California Dream Act Application.
- You will need your 2014 income information. Dependent students will also need parent’s 2014 income information.
- Five to seven days after your entry, check your Financial Aid Award Letter in the Financial Aid section on WebAdvisor to determine if your BOG fee waiver has been awarded.
- Also check MyDocuments in the Financial Aid section of WebAdvisor to determine if additional documents will need to be presented to the Financial Aid Office to verify your eligibility for financial aid.
- If your fee waiver has not been awarded 7 days after your FAFSA or Dream Act entry, visit your campus Financial Aid Office and present a completed, signed manual BOG Fee Waiver application.